Kevin Forgard: Instructional Designer

Home » Uncategorized » Who I am and what I do?

Who I am and what I do?

LinkedIn Profile

Categories

shells
I feel that it is important to declare a bit about myself in the hopes of perhaps setting a purpose to this blog, so the comments below may perhaps veer a bit off the path of this blog and help move the message towards the broader scope of who I am and what I do.

Initially, I began blogging as a way to market myself and enhance my instructional design career. After working (post-grad school) as an instructional designer, I am confident enough to state that having and maintaining a blog is not what keeps me marketable. Instead, its the actually work being done – not just writing about the work. After being employed for several years with plenty of prospects, it is more about making the time to write in my blog. This posting might just be an attempt at that.

Currently, I am designing and developing courses for University of Wisconsin Colleges Online. The position has its challenges, but is overall pretty rewarding. I get to work for a 100% online learning institution and use many of the tools it takes to create and delivery an online course. Many others have written about this process and I really don’t have anything to contribute that hasn’t already been said. Nevertheless, my approach involves creating courses that are interactive and engaging and training faculty on how to understand and teach online in interactive and engaging ways.

Later this month I will be attending the Educause 2014 conference, so I expect to pick up a lot of information on innovative approaches to online learning and higher education instructional design practice.

The other exciting thing happening is the Connected Courses workshop/MOOC that is starting up over at http://connectedcourses.net/

On another note, work/life balance is very important to me. This is probably why I don’t blog as much as I would like. I feel that after about 8 hours of doing instructional design it is important to tune into something else. With that said, I’d like to list a few of the non-work-related activities I do.

  • Guitar player – for pretty much myself
  • Music lover – my current obsession is SoundCloud (https://soundcloud.com/kevingf)
  • Biking/hiking/kayaking when I can
  • Cooking – I’m a culinary school dropout with a penchant for local and seasonal foods
  • Reading – pleasure reading is strictly science fiction and fantasy
  • And of course TV via Netflix and Hulu – I love the serialized programs being produced in the last 10 years

Want more of my stream of thought – check out my Twitter account @kforgard

Leave a Reply

